I Dreamt of You Last Night

I dreamt of you last night. It felt so real that I woke up with tears in my eyes. You were sitting across me, next to somebody I didn’t know. You waved at me and I waved back. I laughed because I was glad that you still recognized me. We met outside the stadium. You reached for my right hand and held it firmly. It’s like that one night, the night when you first held my hand. We walked together for some time. I enjoyed the warm feelings you gave me. We talked about a lot of things. I asked you trivia questions like why the road we passed by was under construction. You gave me short answers and not even once you let go off my hand. The time to say goodbye came too soon. I left you behind only to turn around and ran to you again. You wore the ski jacket I gave you 12 years ago. You stretched your arms and welcomed me into them. I hugged you, closely, fiercely. I didn’t want to say goodbye just yet. The dream felt so real, you felt too real. I didn’t want to lose you again. I had missed you so much. I longed to talk to you. I yearned to be with you. You had been ignoring my cries and only in my dreams you’d come to me. If only we had had more time. I never really told you what I felt for you. I had loved you very much, with all my heart.

Leave a Reply

