From Vince Gill To Lady Antebellum

They say that you listen to the kind of music your parents listened to.

Growing up I listened to a lot of Vince Gill’s music, because my father liked it so much. I think it’s the first time I was exposed to country music. I didn’t know much about his personality because there was no internet back then. All I knew that I enjoyed so much his melancholy and desperate voice singing “I Still Believe In You” (it was and still is my favorite song from him). That song ruled the radio back in 1992. I would tune in whenever this song was playing, and I would look for other channels once his song in one channel ended.

The memory of Vince Gill’s music made it easy for me to embrace the music that Lady Antebellum offers. Lady Antebellum is a country music group formed in 2006. From 1992 to 2006 I never listened to any country music. Well, once I listened to a country song sung by Indonesian presenter-turn-singer, Tantowi Yahya. I and my father were not impressed at all by Tantowi’s unnatural effort to imitate the country music like what they had in the U.S. 

I first heard of Lady Antebellum when I watched the casts of Glee Season 2 performing “Need You Now” in one of their classroom routines. I was instantly hooked by the song, mainly because of Rachel and Puck’s flawless duet, and of course a sweet combination of piano and guitar as the musical instruments. A few months after that my husband and I overheard another song by Lady Antebellum “Just A Kiss”, which became a radio hit in 2011 (not that popular in Indonesia, though). I didn’t have any further encounter with their music until recently when I was scrolling through JOOX, trying to find songs to fit the mood for the novel I’m currently writing. I found 95 songs from Lady Antebellum including their Christmas albums. For the past one week, I’ve been listening to all of their 95 songs on the playlist over and over again. For me music feeds off the words I’m thinking and writing. And up to now I’ve been writing 30.000 words inspired by their music alone.

I felt like I hit the jackpot by specifically listening to their “Own the Night” album (2011). Every and each song in this album is a mood-setter for every scene I write. The most special song for me is “Dancing Away with My Heart” that reminds me of Alex, Em, Ava, and Zara from the first book I wrote (Randomness Inside My Head). It makes me thinking about what kind of memory Alex has from his college years, the decisions he makes that result in him losing so much in his relationships, and what will become the end of his love life.

What I love most about this group is that their music tends to be more pop than country so it’s easy to enjoy, and the voice harmonization is wonderful. I’m a complete sucker for male-female singers performing a duet and dividing the notes into high and low. Charles Kelley and Hillary Scott do amazing job in this. Dave Haywood as the guitarist also does a good job being a backing vocal. Whenever they sing, they leave no room for mistakes up to the end of each song where they improvise the tones.

I just added one more thing to my bucket list: meeting Lady Antebellum in person and singing with them. It may sound absurd, but hey, I dreamed of becoming a writer when I was seven years old and 28 years later that dream came true. So, I’d better never say never to myself.

Here’s a video to enjoy in this cold and rainy Tuesday morning. A perfect partner for a cup of coffee and some reminiscences from the past. 🙂

Leave a Reply

